Chicago travel order expanded to include 4 more states

By Amanda Brennan

Wisconsin, Missouri, North Dakota and Nebraska are the four newest states to be added to Chicago’s emergency travel order. Chicago residents and visitors must quarantine for 14 days upon returning from any of the 22 states that make up the travel ban list. 

Those commuting from Wisconsin to Chicago for work are exempt from the order but they will have to follow certain requirements such as limiting their non-work activities, avoiding public places as much as possible and taking regular temperature checks. 

The additions come after warnings from city health officials last week as they explained that Wisconsin was “very close” to being added to Chicago’s list. 

Although Champaign County has reported 1,367 cases of coronavirus, and Chicago alone has reported 59,691 cases, this travel order impacts many U of I students from the Chicago area. 

As of Fall 2019, 24% of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign’s total students were from Cook County, where Chicago is located. 

Carolina Garibay, junior studying journalism, is part of that 24% and lives in Chicago, her hometown. Although Garibay and her family are keeping travel to a minimum, they are still planning on safely taking part in their annual family vacation to the Wisconsin Dells next week, despite Wisconsin being added to Chicago’s travel order. 

“We changed it so we’re only going to be there two nights instead of five. We also upgraded to a bigger room so that we’re able to spread out more,” Garibay said.

Even though Garibay is nervous and worried about going, she feels better knowing that they will be there a shorter amount of time. “I was a little hesitant to go, but definitely afterward I’m quarantining before school starts,” she continued. 

Outside of Chicago, Gov. J.B. Pritzker explained that he does not plan to require all Illinois residents to quarantine after visiting neighboring and high-risk states. 

Each Tuesday, the Chicago travel order list is assessed and on the following Friday, the additions take effect. The other states included on the list include: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. 

Photo by Destination Signs

Amanda Brennan

Digital Reporter for Good Morning Illini and UI7 News. Amanda also serves as the President for the University of Illinois chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and is a photographer with the Illini Union Marketing Department. You can find Amanda in the Marching Illini Color Guard during the football season. Go Illini!